• Meaningful Use

  • What is meaningful use?

    KLAS Link 

    Meaningful use is a health information technology (HIT) initiative put forth by the federal government in order to encourage the standardization of electronic health records (EHR) by physicians. With the widespread use of EHRs, physicians can improve patient care while receiving incentives for their practice, reducing errors in data, facilitating the transfer of records and data and sending out e-reminders.

    What does it mean for my practice?

    Through the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH), the federal government will make available incentive payments totaling up to $27 billion over 10 years. Eligible professionals can receive up to $44,000 over five years through Medicare, and $63,750 through Medicaid over the six years that they choose.

     To qualify for incentive payments, meaningful use requirements must be met in the following ways:

    • Medicare EHR Incentive Program: Eligible professionals, eligible hospitals, and critical access hospitals (CAHs) must successfully demonstrate meaningful use of certified electronic health record technology every year they participate in the program.
    • Medicaid EHR Incentive Program: Eligible professionals and eligible hospitals may qualify for incentive payments if they adopt, implement, upgrade or demonstrate meaningful use in their first year of participation. They must successfully demonstrate meaningful use for subsequent participation years.
    • Adopted: Acquired and installed certified EHR technology. (For example, can show evidence of installation.) 
    • Implemented: Began using certified EHR technology. (For example, provide staff training or data entry of patient demographic information into EHR.)
    • Upgraded: Expanded existing technology to meet certification requirements. (For example, upgrade to certified EHR technology or add new functionality to meet the definition of certified EHR technology.)

    How can RSNA help me achieve meaningful use goals?

    RSNA informatics solutions and initiatives are designed to make the EHR adoption process easier on you: 

    • Purchasing products that comply with IHE standards ensures that your systems, software and devices can better "talk" to one another and transmit data directly or indirectly to EHRs with minimal human error.
    •  RSNA's MIRC solutions help you easily import data and securely transfer it across institutions—to use for teaching files or clinical trials.
    • myRSNA® helps you create a seamless workspace that can save you and your institution time and resources and overcome firewall challenges.
    • RadLex is a standardized vocabulary of medical imaging terminology that's automatically recognized and retrieved by EHRs.
    • Downloadable reporting templates enable better-organized radiology reports that allow data to flow easily into an EHR.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions in our effort to improve your RSNA web experience.

Name (required)


Email Address (required)


Comments (required)





Discounted Dues: Eligible North American Countries 
Costa Rica
Dominican Republic
El Salvador
Netherlands Antilles
St. Vincent & Grenadines
Country    Country    Country 
Afghanistan   Grenada   Pakistan
Albania   Guatemala   Papua New Guinea
Algeria   Guinea   Paraguay
Angola   Guinea-Bissau   Peru
Armenia   Guyana   Phillippines
Azerbaijan   Haiti   Rwanda
Bangladesh   Honduras   Samoa
Belarus   India   Sao Tome & Principe
Belize   Indonesia   Senegal
Benin   Iran   Serbia
Bhutan   Iraq   Sierra Leone
Bolivia   Jordan   Solomon Islands
Bosnia & Herzegovina   Jamaica   Somalia
Botswana   Kenya   South Africa
Bulgaria   Kiribati   South Sudan
Burkina Faso   Korea, Dem Rep (North)   Sri Lanka
Burundi   Kosovo   St Lucia
Cambodia   Kyrgyzstan   St Vincent & Grenadines
Cameroon   Laos\Lao PDR   Sudan
Cape Verde   Lesotho   Swaziland
Central African Republic   Liberia   Syria
Chad   Macedonia   Tajikistan
China   Madagascar   Tanzania
Colombia   Malawi   Thailand
Comoros   Maldives   Timor-Leste
Congo, Dem. Rep.   Mali   Togo
Congo, Republic of   Marshall Islands   Tonga
Cote d'Ivoire   Mauritania   Tunisia
Djibouti   Micronesia, Fed. Sts.   Turkmenistan
Dominica   Moldova   Tuvalu
Domicican Republic   Mongolia   Uganda
Ecuador   Montenegro   Ukraine
Egypt   Morocco   Uzbekistan
El Salvador   Mozambique   Vanuatu
Eritrea   Myanmar   Vietnam
Ethiopia   Namibia   West Bank & Gaza
Fiji   Nepal   Yemen
Gambia, The   Nicaragua   Zambia
Georgia   Niger   Zimbabwe
Ghana   Nigeria    

Legacy Collection 2
Radiology Logo
RadioGraphics Logo 
Tier 1

  • Bed count: 1-400
  • Associate College: Community, Technical, Further Education (UK), Tribal College
  • Community Public Library (small scale): general reference public library, museum, non-profit administration office

Tier 2

  • Bed count: 401-750
  • Baccalaureate College or University: Bachelor's is the highest degree offered
  • Master's College or University: Master's is the highest degree offered
  • Special Focus Institution: theological seminaries, Bible colleges, engineering, technological, business, management, art, music, design, law

Tier 3

  • Bedcount: 751-1,000
  • Research University: high or very high research activity without affiliated medical school
  • Health Profession School: non-medical, but health focused

Tier 4

  • Bed count: 1,001 +
  • Medical School: research universities with medical school, including medical centers

Tier 5

  • Consortia: academic, medical libraries, affiliated hospitals, regional libraries and other networks
  • Corporate
  • Government Agency and Ministry
  • Hospital System
  • Private Practice
  • Research Institute: government and non-government health research
  • State or National Public Library
  • Professional Society: trade unions, industry trade association, lobbying organization