• Introduction to Research for International Young Academics

  • The focus of this program is to encourage young radiologists from countries outside the United States to pursue careers in academic radiology. The program consists of a special four-day seminar that is held during the RSNA Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

    Eligible candidates are residents and fellows currently in radiology training programs, or radiologists not more than two years out of training, who are beginning or considering an academic career. Nominations must be made by the candidate's department chair or training director. A department chair or training director may only nominate one candidate per year. Fluency in English is required.

    The Committee on Radiology Education recommends fifteen international young academics for consideration by the RSNA Board, each year. Complimentary registration, shared hotel accommodation for the duration of the program, and a stipend to help defray travel expenses are awarded to successful candidates.

    The application deadline for the 2015 program is April 15, 2015.  

    Download Nomination Form

    Testimonials from 2013 program participants

    “Wonderful course, well organized, great personal experience as well as providing inspiring career advice. Thank you for the opportunity.”

    “It was a very interesting week for me. I learned a lot from the speakers, but more importantly, I made a lot of new contacts with people all over the world who are as excited as me about research!”


     Above, Introduction to Research for International Young Academics (IRIYA) and Introduction to Academic Radiology (ITAR) program participants collaborate during a joint session.

    Introduction to Research for International Young Academics Program History

    Year  Participant's Country of Origin 
    Year Participant's Country of Origin 
    2014 Chile, Democratic Republic of Congo, France, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom      
    2013 India, Chile, The Netherlands, Ireland, Mexico, Belgium, South Africa, United Kingdom, Germany, Brazil, Republic of Korea, Trinidad and Tobago, Romania, Malaysia, Portugal
    Brazil, Canada/India, Croatia, Ethiopia, India, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Mexico, New Zealand, Romania, South Africa, Venezuela
    2012 Australia, Brazil, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Russian Federation, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom
    2005 Albania, Argentina, Belgium, Chile, Columbia, Ivory Coast, France, Georgia, Japan, Macedonia, Mexico, Nepal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Taiwan
    2011 Argentina, Belgium, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Nigeria, South Africa, Spain, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom
    2004 Argentina, Brazil, Columbia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, India, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, Romania, South Korea
    2010 Croatia, Germany, India, Italy, Korea, Lithuania, Mexico, Romania, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand
    2003 Belgium, Brazil, Croatia, India, Japan, Korea, Lithuania, New Zealand, Nigeria, South Africa, the Netherlands, Tunisia, Ukraine
    2009 Australia, Austria, Brazil, Columbia, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Nepal/Japan, Nigeria, South Africa, the Netherlands, United Kingdom
    2002 Austria, Chile, China, Georgia, Germany, India, Japan, Malaysia, Mongolia, Norway, Singapore, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine
    2008 Argentina, Brazil, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan/Bangladesh, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Romania, Switzerland, United Kingdom
    2001 Belarus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Germany, Hungary, Japan, Latvia, Malaysia, Nepal, Peru, Philippines, Romania, United Kingdom
    2007 Argentina, Brazil, El Salvador, Germany, India, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, South Korea, the Netherlands, United Kingdom
    Belarus, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, Greece, Japan, Philippines, Romania, Turkey, United Kingdom