Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More
  • Annual Oration in Diagnostic Radiology

  • (Originally titled the Carman Lecture 1934-1960, then Annual Oration 1961-1989)

    The Annual Oration in Diagnostic Radiology is an honored lecture presented by invitation of the president, with the approval of the Board of Directors.

    2014 David C. Levin, MD, Philadelphia, PA 1975 Gerald D. Dodd Jr, MD, Houston, TX
    2013 Damian E. Dupuy, MD, Centerville, MA 1974 Milton Elkin, MD, Bronx, NY
    2012 Leonard Berlin, MD, Wilmette, IL 1973 Richard H. Marshak, MD, New York, NY
    2012 Richard B. Gunderman, MD, PhD, Indianapolis, IN 1972 Donald S. Childs Jr, MD, Rochester, MN
    2011 Jeffrey R. Petrella, MD, Chapel Hill, NC 1971 A.R. Margulis, MD, San Francisco, CA
    2010 Christian J. Herold, MD, Vienna, Austria 1970 William B. Seaman, MD, New York, NY
    2009 Daniel C. Sullivan, MD, Durham, NC 1969 Leo G. Rigler, MD, Los Angeles, CA
    2008 Elizabeth G. McFarland, MD, Chesterfield, MO 1968 Eugene L. Saenger, MD, Cincinnati, OH
    2007 Lawrence W. Bassett, MD, Los Angeles, CA 1967 Benjamin Felson, MD, Cincinnati, OH
    2006 Kerry M. Link, MD, Winston-Salem, NC 1966 Reynold F. Brown, MD, San Francisco, CA
    2005 William R. Brody, MD, PhD, Baltimore, MD 1965 Russell H. Morgan, MD, Baltimore, MD
    2004 Harry K. Genant, MD, San Francisco, CA 1964 Vincent P. Collins, MD, LLB, Houston, TX
    2003 Donald L. Resnick, MD, San Diego, CA 1963 John A. Evans, MD, New York, NY
    2002 Valerie P. Jackson, MD, Indianapolis, IN 1962 Lauriston S. Taylor, ScD, Washington, DC
    2001 Clyde A. Helms, MD, Durham, NC 1961 Laurence L. Robbins, MD, Boston, MA
    2000 Gary J. Becker, MD, Miami, FL 1960 Warren H. Cole, MD, Chicago, IL
    1999 Barry B. Goldberg, MD, Philadelphia, PA 1959 Chester M. Jones, MD, Boston, MA
    1998 Giles W. Stevenson, MD, Hamilton, ON 1958 Owen H. Wangensteen, MD, Minneapolis, MN
    1997 Stanley S. Siegelman, MD, Baltimore, MD 1957 L. Henry Garland, MD, San Francisco, CA
    1996 Steven E. Harms, MD, Little Rock, AR 1956 Lowell S. Goin, MD, Los Angeles, CA
    1995 William R. Lees, MD, London, United Kingdom 1955 Axel N. Arenson, MD, St. Louis, MO
    1994 Theresa C. McLoud, MD, Boston, MA 1954 Barton R. Young, MD, Philadelphia, PA
    1993 George D. Lundberg, MD, Chicago, IL 1953 Roger A. Harvey, MD, Chicago, IL
    1992 Theodore E. Keats, MD, Charlottesville, VA 1952 Richard H. Chamberlain, MD, Philadelphia, PA
    1991 Nestor L. Muller, MD, PhD, Vancouver, BC 1951 Robert S. Stone, MD, San Francisco, CA
    1990 Anthony V. Proto, MD, Richmond, VA 1950 Wendell G. Scott, MD, St. Louis, MO
    1989 Reed P. Rice, MD, Durham, NC 1949 John D. Camp, MD, Rochester, MN
    1988 Leonard E. Swischuk, MD, Galveston, TX 1948 Merrill C. Sosman, MD, Boston, MA
    1987 William J. Casarella, MD, Atlanta, GA 1947 Douglas Quick, MD, New York, NY
    1986 Morton A. Meyers, MD, Stony Brook, NY 1946 Robert R. Newell, MD, San Francisco, CA
    1985 David G. Bragg, MD, Salt Lake City, UT 1945 Robert R. Newell, MD, San Francisco, CA
    1984 Donald Resnick, MD, San Diego, CA 1944 Lawrence Reynolds, MD, Detroit, MI (in conjunction with the Caldwell Lecture)
    1983 Harry Z. Mellins, MD, Boston, MA 1942 Eugene P. Pendergrass, MD, Philadelphia, PA
    1982 David E. Kuhl, MD, Los Angeles, CA 1941 W. Edward Chamberlain, MD, Philadelphia, PA
    1981 E. Robert Heitzman, MD, Syracuse, NY 1940 Ross Golden, MD, New York, NY
    1980 Edward B. Singleton, MD, Houston, TX 1939 Francis C. Wood, MD, New York, NY
    1979 Harold G. Jacobson, MD, Bronx, NY 1938 William C. MacCarty, Sr, MD, Rochester, MN
    1978 William J. Tuddenham, MD, Philadelphia, PA 1937 George W. Holmes, MD, Boston, MA
    1977 Robert D. Moseley Jr, MD, Albuquerque, NM 1936 James T. Case, MD, Chicago, IL
    1976 Robert G. Fraser, MD, Birmingham, AL 1935 Arthur C. Christie, MD, Washington, DC
      1934 Byrl R. Kirklin, MD, Rochester, MN